Moominvalley – the new Moomin TV series

Moominvalley is a 3D animated TV-series based on the much-loved Moomin stories of Tove Jansson. Its sophisticated look and timeless stories appeal to family audiences across the globe. The drama fantasy series is full of life and laughter for lifelong Moomin fans and complete newcomers alike.

Moominvalley brings the Moomins into a 3D space for the first time in history. The unique visual style combines high quality CGI with painterly effects. The light in the series is based on the Nordic light – honest and bright. The gorgeous visuals and natural light create a beautiful and fitting scenery that acts as a backdrop to the Moomin stories.

Moominvalley Season 1 premiered in 2019 and it focuses on the main character of the series, Moomintroll, and how he perceives the world around him. As he grows up, the focus shifts to the Moomin family in Season 2 which premiered in 2020. The third season was launched in 2022 with a theme of community. We are introduced to all the creatures that make Moominvalley the heart-warming place as we know it. The theme of Season 4 is utopia.

Moominvalley broke records already on its first season as it was the most watched TV series in 2019 in Finland. In addition to this, Moominvalley is the most watched show ever on the Finnish pub-broadcaster Yle’s VOD platform, Yle Areena. The success continued with international recognition as the series was nominated for an International Emmy® Kids Award and Rockie Award (Banff World Media Festival) both in 2020 and additionally, shortlisted for the Broadcast Digital Awards in the same year. The following seasons attracted similar interest as the series was nominated for the Best Children’s TV/Media programme at the Annie Awards 2023 in addition to snapping up winning awards at the New York International Children’s Film Festival 2022 for Best Audience Episodic Award and the TBI Content Innovation Awards 2022 for Best Children’s Programme. Moominvalley was also nominated in the Best Children’s TV Programme category at the Golden Venla in 2023 after winning the award in 2019 and 2020 respectively.

Behind the Moominvalley series

moominvalley moomin tv series

Moominvalley is produced by the Finnish production company Gutsy Animations in collaboration with Yle and Sky and, additionally, Viaplay in the fourth season. Back in 2017 the very first fans of the series showed their support by backing the Moomin Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign and ensured the campaign to not only reach the goal sum but surpass it. The funds were used to develop the unique visual style of the series. You can find an extensive list of supporters here.

Moominvalley is produced by a distinguishing talented team led by the Finnish award-winning content creator and director Marika Makaroff. The series director of the two seasons is the Oscar®-winning Steve Box (The Curse of the Were-Rabbit) followed by Nigel Davis (Shaun the Sheep Movie) in Season 4. Season 3 is directed by the episode directors from previous seasons; Nigel Davies, Sara Barbas (Final Call), Darren Robbie (Doc McStuffins) and Jay Grace (Shaun the Sheep). The first season is produced by the BAFTA®-winning producer John Woolley (Shaun the Sheep), Season 2 by Louise Holmes (Shaun of the Sheep) and Seasons 3 and 4 by Stephen Dorrance (Happy!). The first three seasons are written by the Emmy®-winning writing duo Mark Huckerby and Nick Ostler (Peter Rabbit). Season 4 is written by Diana Whitley (House of Anubis).

The 3D animation is made at Anima Vitae – a Finnish animation studio located in Helsinki and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The score music is composed by acclaimed Finnish composers and musicians – percussionist Samuli Kosminen, multi-instrumentalist Jarmo Saari and violinist Pekka Kuusisto. Seasons 1 and 2 feature original music from a variety of popular and up-and-coming indie artists such as MØ, First Aid Kit, Alma, Tom Odell, girl in red, Josef Salvat and Jesse Markin.


Season 1

Season 1 introduces Moomintroll, the star of the show, and his extraordinary family and whimsical friends who take us on an adventure into the magical world of Moominvalley. Most of the episodes will centre on the Moominhouse and Moominvalley, an idyllic place entirely untouched by the modern world. Sometimes they will venture beyond the valley into the vast wilderness, huge dark forests, mysterious distant islands and lonely perilous mountains.

As we follow the story of Moomintroll’s growth and encounters with his family and other creatures, we learn more about our own humanity, relationships and emotions – and especially about love. Moominvalley is an uplifting series with many positive messages!