New cast members of the upcoming animated series MOOMINVALLEY

Jennifer Saunders, Matt Lucas, and Alison Steadman are among the new cast members to voice the inhabitants of MOOMINVALLEY in the upcoming animation. They are the latest stars to be associated with the family drama, with previously announced cast members including Taron Egerton, Rosamund Pike, and Kate Winslet.

Gutsy Animations, the Finnish production company bringing the Moomins to life in a family TV drama, has confirmed that Saunders is on board to voice the character of Mymble, while Steadman and Lucas will lend their voices to Emma the Stage Rat and Teety-Woo, respectively. Katie Leung and Rebecca Root are also welcomed into the fold, voicing the characters of Too-Ticky and Misabel.

Speaking about her excitement to be cast in the show, Alison Steadman said, “I was so thrilled to be asked to take part in Moominvalley. It’s such a brilliant show and different from anything I’ve ever done before. The recording was so fun, I didn’t want it to end!”

Creative Director and Executive Producer at Finland-based production company Gutsy Animations, Marika Makaroff, said, “We always knew we had a very special project on our hands and it is extremely gratifying to see that others – so many of whom have worked on countless award-winning films and shows – think so too. We’re delighted to welcome these exceptionally talented actors to the MOOMINVALLEY family and can’t wait to share their, and our, work on the show with the world.”



MOOMINVALLEY is based on the beloved Moomin stories by Tove Jansson and will consist of two series of 13 x 22-minute-long episodes. It will broadcast in 2019 on Sky One in the UK and public broadcaster YLE in Finland. The show is being created by an outstanding team, including Oscar®-winning director Steve Box (Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit).

Cast and characters:

  • Moominmamma – Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl, A United Kingdom, An Education)
  • Moominpappa – Matt Berry (The IT Crowd, Toast of London, The Philanthropist)
  • Moomintroll – Taron Egerton (Kingsman, Eddie the Eagle, Testament of Youth)
  • Snorkmaiden – Akiya Henry (Bing, Bottersnikes and Gumble, Noddy in Toyland)
  • Sniff – Warwick Davis (Harry Potter, Star Wars, Life’s Too Short)
  • Little My – Bel Powley (The Diary of a Teenage Girl, A Royal Night Out, Carrie Pilby)
  • Snufkin – Edvin Endre (Eddie the Eagle, Vikings, Nameja gredzens)
  • Ninny – Mayumi Kawai
  • Teety-Woo – Matt Lucas (Bridesmaids, Doctor Who, Little Britain)
  • Too-Ticky – Katie Leung (Harry Potter)
  • Misabel – Rebecca Root (The Danish Girl, Boy Meets Girl)
  • Mymble – Jennifer Saunders (Absolutely Fabulous, French and Saunders, Shrek)
  • Emma the Stage Rat – Alison Steadman (Gavin & Stacey, Pride & Prejudice)
  • Hemulen (Female) – Susie Brann
  • Hemulen (Male) – Joe Wilkinson (Rovers, Miranda, Him & Her)
  • Mrs Fillyjonk – Kate Winslet (Titanic, Revolutionary Road, The Reader)
  • The Muskrat – Will Self (Shooting Stars, author of Phone and Sky Arts drama The Minor
  • The Ghost – Richard Ayoade (The IT Crowd, presenter of Travel Man & Crystal Maze)


Follow animated series MOOMINVALLEY on social media:

Moominvalley Facebook

Moominvalley Instagram

Moominvalley Twitter